Rigging for Symmetrical Spinnaker

Started by Gray Drohan, January 20, 2021, 03:18:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gray Drohan

A few years ago there was talk about some boats doing the Delta Ditch Run (a 65nm drag race from a corner of the San Francisco Bay off of Richmond up the San Joaquin River to the Stockton Sailing Club).  Being that I joined the SSC when I bought #223 last year, I am planning to "Do the Ditch" when it next is arranged.  It is currently set for June 12, 2021.  I've never done it before, but hear that this race is a blast.  Usually into climbing temperatures in a building westerly.  Usually fast.  Always challenging.  Big party.  100+ boats.  It's a Bucket List race for many on the West coast.

But, as was noted in the earlier posts, running upriver can be a whole lotta work (and not necessarily fast) with an asymmetrical setup, as the course is often a.) dead downwind, and b.) 200 yards wide in places.  A rough map of the course is attached.

So, for this particular purpose, I'm working on assembling the components to allow us to sail the race with a symmetrical chute.  But I don't want to spend a lot of money on it until I know that it actually works well enough.  I have a friend that has volunteered to fabricate a custom pole eye for the mast that can be temporarily affixed with Velco and straps.  The spinnaker pole length on an Etchells is 8', which oughta be a good place to start, and there are lots of those around.  I'll lash a topping lift block at the spreaders and rig some twings for downhaul.  Someone suggested a Santana 20 kite would work, so I'll try that.  Testing and adjustments will be necessary, I'm sure.

But I have a few questions:

1. Has anyone rigged a symmetrical spinnaker on a Viper before?  I suspect so, but can't find any reference to it in the forum.  If so, would you provide some comments as to your experiences?