east coast calendar

Started by Geoff Ewenson, February 25, 2014, 02:28:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Geoff Ewenson

I am new to the Viper Class and am actively trying to generate growth in the mid atlantic area. Specifically in Annapolis and the Eastern Shore of the Chesapeake. I am wondering if any of the active fleets in LIS and Massachusetts might be able to help by telling me what events are on the schedule for the north east in 2014.

For completely personal reasons, I am hoping that we might get enough boats to warrant a class start at the Buzzards Bay regatta this summer. I cannot think of a better place to showcase the boats than a windy venue like BBR. It is in between the LIS guys and the Boston area guys. Maybe someone can help answer why the class hasn't made this a must do event in the past?

I am trying to formulate my schedule for the summer and have limited availablity...I dont want to miss out on any awesome events because they werent on the class schedule and I say yes to something much much worse.

Cheers,

Geoff Ewenson

Paul Zimmerman

Hi Geoff,

I tried this a few times with the organizers. This is going back 4-5 years ago.  The first time there was no room for us, until the J-22's pulled out.  But then there was not enough interest in the fleet to get the minimum boats required for a start.  The second time I tried, I was told there simply was not enough room for us. Agree that it is a great venue for Vipers

Doug Mroz

When is the viper calendar being updated with east coast events? I was told last week, but it doesnt look like it yet.

Jason Hyerstay

Please make sure the Lake Champlain Viper 640 Regatta gets included, September 27-28, lcyc.info

Thanks,

jason
Jason Hyerstay - Streetwise - Viper 640 #195 - Lake Champlain Yacht Club, Shelburne, Vermont, USA, https://lcyc.info

Cole Constantineau

Welcome to the class Geoff!  I'm looking forward to seeing you out on the water--possibly this summer!