PHRF Experiences and Downwind Angles

Started by Kevin Blank, March 23, 2010, 06:53:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kevin Blank

Alright guys, I'm still new with the boat, but I'm learning quickly.  Right now I'm racing locally with the PHRF fleets and I'm having a few challenges.  I'm sailing a '96 with a tin rig and bulb upgrade. 

A few weeks ago I was sailing in 4-6 knots of breeze and I just couldn't point or keep up at all.  At that wind speed, so I even bother trying to sail wide angles or do I rotate the kite to windward, move all the bodies forward and think like a Laser?  When going upwind, do I need to barberhaul and if so, how much?

Last weekend I was out in 13-16 knots of breeze, sailing up against a Olson 30 which rates very close.  I expect to loose a little distance upwind since the Olson should waterline me to the mark, but downwind I couldn't catch him either.  My downwind target in that breeze was to keep my apparent wind pretty much on the beam.  Was I heating it up too much and need to sail deeper?

Once I can make a few one-design events, some of these answers will work themselves out, but for right now I'm looking for help!

Jeff Jones

Upwind

Make sure you have a split-tail mainsheet system (aft sheeting).  It does a better job of bringing the boom on center + takes up forestay sag w/o closing the leach of the mainsail.  If the breeze is on, i switch out to mid boom sheet - with that sysem the boom stays a little low of center when you sheet on hard to close the leach and reduce forestay sag.   That will most certainly help your pointing.

After you've been in the boat for a while you'll learn to drive for power and then pinch for height.

We inhaul when the breeze when we're not full-on hiking.   We let the leward sheet off about an inch and inhaul about 1 - 1.5" max.   

In flat water we outpoint everyone.