New Sails

Started by Drake Borer, January 13, 2010, 10:13:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Drake Borer

This may seem like a trivial question, but what the hell....  As a new Viper owner,  received my new boat with a new set of sails- without numbers on them.   Are there any rules with regard to how the numbers need to placed on the sails?  Any tips on how to do it.   
Also, i have already hurt the spinnaker.  How do I go about getting a new set of sails (spinnaker in particular)?  Do I simply contact Hyde Sails?  I am new to sailing in the US and new boats, so I hope this is not a silly question.

Dan Tucker

Where to put the numbers? On the mainsail only, see the Racing Rules of Sailing (or is it the Equipment Rules?). A local sailmaker can help, or do it for you for a bottle of rum.

For new sails, contact Rondar directly, or a North American Rep, Paul Z, Harv or Drew. Remember, only 1 suit/year...
Race it like you stole it.

Ben Steinberg

Typically class rules designate where the numbers go but ours don't.  A pretty standardized way to go about numbers is to place the USA on the starboard side so that the top edge is butted up against the underside of the second to the top batten pocket.  this assumes the viper insignia is in the panel above, if not, go down a panel.  Start at the leech and measure in 100mm before the U, space the letters 40mm apart.  Flip the sail over and and draw a line parallel to the underside of the USA but 60MM below it.  This is the top of the USA for the port side.  Start in the same 1000mm from the leech, start with the A so it reads correctly, and continue with the same 40mm apart.  flip sail over, measure down 60 mm, draw a line, this is the top of the starboard numbers, same spacing as before.  Flip over measure down, measure in, stick em on.  Work from one side of the sticker to the other peeling and sticking at the same time.  U's are easy, A's tougher and 8's a total pain.